Lene Vestergaard Hau

MacArthur Fellow

Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics and of Applied Physics


Received the Carlsberg Foundation's Research Award for the Natural Sciences by the Royal Danish Society of Sciences and Letter, 5 October 2011..

Named '2011 Disinguished Alum' by Aarhus University, Denmark, on 9 September 2011.

Named ‘World Dane 2010’ ('Verdensdansker 2010') by global network Danes Worldwide in Elsinore, Denmark, on 1 August 2010.

Selected National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow by the Dept. of Defense, January 25, 2010.

Elected an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow, December 7, 2009.

Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, April 20, 2009.

Honored with Harvard University's prestigious Ledlie Prize in September 2008.

Elected to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on January 16, 2008.

Public Lecture: Carnegie Institution's Capital Science Evening
Lecture, March 20 2008, Washington DC.

Lene Hau was selected by the MacArthur Foundation as one of only 9 MacArthur Fellows to be featured in connection with the 25th anniversary of the MacArthur Fellows program. The 9 fellows were selected among all MacArthur fellows named over the history of the fellows program. See "MacArthur Fellows: the first 25 years, 1981-2005"
( Published by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, 2005).

The Library of Congress has recognized Lene Hau in its "Women Who Dare" 2007 desk calendar of accomplished women from around the world and throughout history.

Recipient of the 2004 Richtmyer Memorial Award by the American Association of Physics Teachers.